NIU Sole Recipient of All Five Ministry of Education Grant Types

The Japanese Ministry of Education (MEXT) has announced the recipients of its annual grants relating to comprehensive reform of private universities. Out of 478 universities, NIU is the only one to be awarded grants in all five categories. Grants are awarded on a merit-based system related to an institution's activities in the following areas:

Type 1: Qualitative reform of education
Type 2: Regional development
Type 3: Collaboration with industry and other universities
Type 4: Globalization
Type 5: Platform formation

NIU will use these grants to continue striving for excellence in higher education to support students and the community at large.